Posted by: ryalltime | June 14, 2010

R.I.P., Al Williamson

I was sad to hear of Al Williamson‘s passing this morning. The great thing about someone like Al, who made such masterful contributions to the comics industry over more than a half-century, is that multiple generations have their favorite Al works. For me, it was always his adaptations of THE EMPIRE STRIKES BACK and RETURN OF THE JEDI, which I read pretty much every day for a year as a kid. His work there took a more cinematic approach to comic art than I’d ever seen at the time.

And for the previous generation, there was work like Al’s SECRET AGENT strips that he did with the great Archie Goodwin. So it’s gratifying to me that we’ve got a collection of these strips on the way soon, to remind everyone again just how good Al (and Archie) was. Check out the strips below and see what I mean about how cinematic Al’s art was, even 40-some years ago. Rest in peace, Al.

Responses

  1. [...] Chris Ryall: "The great thing about someone like Al, who made such masterful contributions to the comics industry over more than a half-century, is that multiple generations have their favorite Al works. For me, it was always his adaptations of The Empire Strikes Back and Return of the Jedi, which I read pretty much every day for a year as a kid. His work there took a more cinematic approach to comic art than I’d ever seen at the time." [...]

  2. I must have this one!

  3. for me he was always the gentleman.
    he restores my hope.
    and i will always miss him.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

